Mornin' Mojo

Full Caf Americano™

Feinstein Snipes at Ted Cruz on Gun Control: ‘I Walked In, I Saw People Shot.’

Dianne-FeinsteinUh-O, somebody’s not getting her Ensure.

We picked this up from the Weekly Standard via Hot Air this morning. Interesting how DiFi crows, not only about her overly-long tenure in the Senate (Noah had just landed on Mt. Ararat), but also how she dissembles the debate into the murders of former San Francisco mayor George Moscone and councilman Harvey Milk by fellow councilman Dan White. Feinstein assumed the mayorship after the event.

We caught something WS and Hot Air may have missed.

Weekly Standard:

“The question that I would pose to the senior senator from California is,” said Cruz to Feinstein, “Would she deem it consistent with the Bill of Rights for Congress to engage in the same endeavor that we are contemplating doing with the Second Amendment in the context of the First or Fourth Amendment, namely, would she consider it constitutional for Congress to specify that the First Amendment shall apply only to the following books and shall not apply to the books that Congress has deemed outside the protection of the Bill of Rights? Likewise, would she think that the Fourth Amendment’s protection against searches and seizures could properly apply only to the following specified individuals and not to the individuals that Congress has deemed outside the protection of the Bill of Rights?

“I’m not a sixth grader,” said Feinstein. “Senator, I’ve been on this committee for 20 years. I was a mayor for nine years. I walked in, I saw people shot. I’ve looked at bodies that have been shot with these weapons. I’ve seen the bullets that implode. In Sandy Hook, youngsters were dismembered. Look, there are other weapons. I’ve been up — I’m not a lawyer, but after 20 years I’ve been up close and personal to the Constitution. I have great respect for it. This doesn’t mean that weapons of war and the Heller decision clearly points out three exceptions, two of which are pertinent here. And so I — you know, it’s fine you want to lecture me on the Constitution. I appreciate it. Just know I’ve been here for a long time. I’ve passed on a number of bills. I’ve studied the Constitution myself. I am reasonably well educated, and I thank you for the lecture.”

So don’t correct me with facts while I’m being senile, sonny!

Just kidding.

Why is Feinstein’s reference to the Milk-Moscone murders poignant? Because Councilman White used a five-shot Smith and Wesson .38-caliber Chief’s Special to murder Sean Penn… er, Harvey Milk and George Moscone.

Under DiFi’s ‘Assault Weapon’s’ ban, Milk and Moscone would still be dead. Ah, but Feinstein, who was where any unarmed Democrat should be, under her desk, is alive.

So how many bullets are too many for Senator Feinstein? One.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

